Many people like to tint their car windshields to protect the interior parts from damage and discoloration.
You can tint your car windshield, but rules can vary according to different states and types of vehicles. You have to check their VLT or the amount of light it allows to pass through them. These should have VLT of about 24% to 35% in different states and their laws. You can receive tickets of $50 to more than $1000 for using illegal tints.
I also wanted to apply the tint on my car’s front and rear sides. I live in Georgia, and the temperature becomes excessively high during the summer. My car’s AC started working less efficiently during summers, so I installed the tints to block heat and UV radiation.
It is necessary for you to get information about the windshield tinting terminologies to make the right selection. VLT stands for visible light transmittance, which is the percentage of light that can easily pass through these films.
|$1000 or imprisonment for 3 months
|Below manufacturer’s AS-1 line
|Below AS-1 Line
|70% to 80%
|Below AS-1 Line
|6 inches on the top
|$1000 with 12 months
|5 inches on the top
|Below AS-1 Line
|4 inches on the top
|6 inches on the top
|$150 to $250
|Below AS-1 Line
You can add tints on the front and rear windshield when living in Mississippi. However, these should have a maximum of 20% reflectivity to reduce the visibility issues.
In addition, front-side windshields should have VLT (visible light transmittance) of about less than 28%. You can add darker tints on the rear side to increase the privacy inside the passenger cabin.
This state does not implement any restrictions for colors. You can select their colors according to your vehicle’s exterior design and color.
Moreover, you can add tints on SUVs, cars, trucks, and vans in Mississippi. My friend lived in Mississippi, and he told me that he has to display the sticker on the windscreen, which shows that tints have VLT or 28% or more to avoid tickets.
He told me that you have to pay a ticket of about $1000 or imprisonment for 3 months for not following the rules.
You can tint your windshield in North Carolina, but you have to install these below the AS-1 lines, which is a darker area. You cannot add any stickers or protective film in this restricted area.
They should have darkness of less than 32%, according to a North Carolina-approved tint meter. However, the rules are not applicable to motorhomes, ambulances, law enforcement vehicles, and multipurpose vehicles.
Moreover, you can also apply for a medical exemption permit in North Carolina if you need darker tints according to the sensitivity of your skin. I spent a few days in North Carolina because of my job and applied for a medical permit because of my photosensitivity to light.
The medical exemption certificate was applicable for 5 years, and I left the NC after 4 years. However, I displayed the exemption sticker on the lower left corner of the windshield to avoid tickets.
You can get a fine of about $200 for not displaying the sticker. You also have to pay fines of $50 and court costs for applying darker tints.
California allows tint application in cars, sedans, vans, and SUVs. You can only add these above the top four inches of the windscreen and keep it below the AS-1 line.
Moreover, these should have VLT of about 70% to 88% when you are adding these as an aftermarket addition. However, you can use tints of any darkness on the rear side windscreen.
California also has restrictions for specific colors. You should not add amber, red, and blue tints on side mirrors and front or rear windscreen.
You can get tickets for $25, and you also have to remove the tints.
You have to follow the window tints rules and regulations in Illinois while driving in this state to avoid penalties, tickets, and legal actions.
Illinois allows you to apply tints on a sedan’s windscreen. Moreover, you can use only 6-inch area of the windscreen for better visibility.
You can use the tints on the front and rear sides that have a VLT of 35%. It shows that these allow 35% of light to pass through it. However, you can use specialized and darker tints if you are suffering from medical conditions, including photosensitivity, albinism, and porphyria.
My friend lives in Illinois, and he said that he used the specialized tints, but he did not have a certified letter directed from the certified physician.
He told me that he got a ticket for $250 for not following the rules. Moreover, you have to pay a fine of more than $500 for repeating the offense.
Windshield front and rear tints are common in Georgia because of the high temperature in these areas. Georgia has specific rules for these protective films according to their darkness and location to decrease the risk of accidents.
These should have darkness of about 32% and light reflectance of 20%. You cannot use tints of red and amber color in this state.
Moreover, you can get a fine of $1000 and spend 12 months in jail for not following the rules.
Alabama window tinting rules state that you can apply tints on the windscreen that allow 32% of light to pass through. In addition, there is no restriction on tint color.
You have to check their reflection, and these should not be more than 20% reflective. You can apply it on the upper six inches of the windscreen. You can receive a ticket of $179 for incorrect and illegal tinting.
Alabama has no color restrictions; you can add it according to your needs.
You have to check the darkness of the tints while installing these in your vehicles. Moreover, it is necessary to check the rules in Arizona to avoid penalties and legal actions.
You should select tints that have a VLT of 33% in Arizona. Moreover, you can add a slightly darker one on the rear side to reduce UV light entry.
These should not be more than 35% reflective. You cannot use red and amber colors on the front and rear side windscreen. This state allows the installation of non-reflective tints below the manufacturer’s AS-1 lines of your vehicle.
You can get a ticket of $250 for using illegal tints in Arizona.
Windshield tints in Colorado should have a VLT (visible light transmittance) of 27%. You have to apply on the top surface of 4 inches on the windscreen.
You have to use ceramic tints instead of metallic ones. You can receive a ticket of $50 for not following the rules of your particular state.
Moreover, fines can also increase for more than one violation.
The Windshield Tinting law in California was formulated in 1991 and amended in 2017. You can add the ones that allow 70% of light to pass through their film.
In addition, these should be made of non-reflective material to improve visibility. Moreover, you can use it on top 6 inches of the windscreen.
You cannot use metallic tints because they interfere with radio devices and light reflection. I always use ceramic tints because they are more reliable than metallic ones.
You can get a ticket of $150 for using illegal window tints.
You can apply tints of 25% VLT in Texas that reflect less than 25%. You should install these above the AS-1 line or in a darker area of the windscreen.
However, you can use darker tints on backside windows for more privacy. This state also prohibits using red, blue, and amber colors.
You have to pay $150 to $250 for each violation. Moreover, you also have to remove the illegal windscreen tints from your vehicle.