Skip to Content

What Year Dodge Dakota Parts Are Interchangeable?

What Year Dodge Dakota Parts Are Interchangeable?

Dodge Dakota is a midsize pickup truck manufactured by Chrysler and was available in 3 generations from 1987-2009.

What Year Dodge Dakota Parts Are Interchangeable? You can interchange different parts of  Dodge Dakota from 1987-1996, 1997-2004, 2005-2007, and 2008-2009 models. AC parts like compressors are compatible with 1987-1991, 1992-1993, 1994-1995, 1997-1999, and 2001-2004 variants. You can swap the truck bed and its parts for the same sizes for the 1987-1996, 1997-2004, and 2005-2011 models. You can replace the 3.9-liter V6 engine between the 1987-1991, 1992-1996, and 1997-2003 variants.

It has been under the brand name Ram for 2010 and 2011 until its discontinuation by the manufacturer. Therefore, you have to look up used parts from other trucks to do its repair tasks or upgrade it.

Interchangeable Parts between different Dodge Dakota models

Dodge Dakota is a midsize pickup truck from the 1987-2009 model years and is available in 3 generations.

The manufacturer discontinued its production in 2011. Therefore, you have to look for parts from earlier pickup trucks or aftermarket solutions.

Body parts

You can swap the body parts for all Dodge Dakota models within the same generation. For example, in the 1st generation, you can swap all front and rear end parts between 1987-1996 models.

However, there is a difference in the front-end metal sheet between the 1987-1990 and 1991-1996 models of the pickup truck.

For 2nd generation variants, body parts like fenders, grille, hood, and headlights are interchangeable for 1997-2004 models of Dodge Dakota.

For the 3rd generation, body parts like the hood, grille, tailgate, and rear bumper are the same for the 2005-2007 and 2008-2009 years and later Ram Dakota models from 2010-2011. 

Air conditioner

Air Conditioner (AC) parts, including compressor, condenser, and evaporator, are interchangeable within same generation versions.

AC compressors have compatibility with particular engine types, and you can swap them for 1987-1991, 1992-1993, 1994-1995, 1997-1999, and 2001-2004 model years.

The condenser is compatible with the pickup truck’s 1987-1993, 1994-1995, 1997-1999, 2000-2004, and 2005-2007 variants.

You can swap the evaporator for 1987-1990, 1991-1993, 1994-2000, 2001-2004, and 2005-2007 variants.

However, you must ensure the compatibility of these AC parts with particular engine types and their displacements in your vehicle as they draw power from the engine.

Brake parts

You can replace brake parts, including a hub, rotors, calipers, pads, and hoses for Dodge Dakota model years within the same generation having the same wheel and axle sizes.

For example, the brake master cylinder is compatible with the 1987-1996 variants. Other parts like pads, brake calipers, and a hub are interchangeable for the 1987-1990 and 1991-1996 models.

2nd generation variants from 1997-2004 have ABS available, and brake parts are compatible for the same or consecutive years.

For the 3rd generation Dodge Dakota, you can swap the components like the caliper and hub for the 2005-2009 variants. There can also be differences in brake parts for 2WD and 4WD models of the pickup truck.

Truck bed

You can swap truck beds within the same generation models and cab configurations.

However, to be on the safe side, you should measure your truck’s bed length and compare it with the option for replacement.

Another essential thing to consider is the matching bolt location on both of them. Truck beds, liners, and tonneau covers are interchangeable for 1987-1996, 1997-2004, and 2005-2011, including the Ram Dakota variants.

However, you can swap beds of the same style, that is, long body with the long and short body with the short one.

Exhaust system

Exhaust system interchangeability depends on the installed engine type in a particular model of Dodge Dakota and other options like exhaust manifold and more advanced features like a catalytic converter.

The exhaust manifold is swappable for 1987-1990, 1991-1995, 1996-1999, 2000-2004, and 2005-2009 variants of the truck, with few exceptions.

Furthermore, exhaust manifolds are also compatible with both V6 and V8 engines.

You can also make minor modifications in parts like Y-pipe and tailpipe to make them work.

Engine parts

There are several engine options for each generation of Dodge Dakota pickup truck, and you can swap parts between the same engine options.

For replacing pickup truck models with different engine options, you have to completely interchange both engines, including wiring harnesses and PCM, if both have a compatible size and mounting bolt locations.

For example, 1987-1991 had a 3.9-liter V6 LA version with throttle body fuel injection, while the 1992-1996 Magnum version had the same 3.9-liter V6 engine with multiport fuel injection.

Moreover, its 1996 variant has OBDII tool compatibility instead of the OBDI as in previous models.

Similarly, Magnum 3.9-liter V6 can work for 1997-2003 Dodge Dakota with minor modifications to cater to upgrades and new features every year. The 3.7-liter Magnum V6 is suitable for its 3rd generation from 2005-2009.

Transmission system

The transmission system of Dodge Dakota is another component that requires compatibility with the engine for its replacement.

The 1987-1991 and 1992-1999 models of the pickup truck have the same bell housing compatible with the 3.9-liter V6 engine.

Other parts like transaxle and transfer case assembly depend on the particular model year due to changes in features like overdrive.

For 3rd generation variants, the 4-speed automatic transmission 42RLE is an option with the 3.7-liter V6 engine, and you can swap it for the same year without any modifications.

However, the 6-speed manual works with any of the 2005-2009 trucks. There is also a difference between transmission cross members for 2WD and 4WD models. 

Wheel and Axle

1987-1990 models of Dodge Dakota have 5 bolt patterns, and their wheels are interchangeable. While 1991-2004 uses 6-lug pattern axles, and you can replace them.

To replace with older models to keep your brakes and wheels, you’ll need to interchange the axle shafts. From 2005 to 2011, they have a 5-bolt pattern, and you can swap the wheels and other associated parts.

You cannot directly replace between 2WD and 4WD because of different axle designs. To replace 4WD variants, you must ensure that both have the same axle ratios.

Are parts interchangeable for all trim levels of Dodge Dakota?

Dodge Dakota has various trim levels available for each generation, including ST, SLT, SXT, Sport, and R/T, to name a few.

They have significant differences in features like chrome alloy wheels, audio systems, power doors and windows, and some interior features like seats.

Major components like the engine and transmission system are the same for all trim levels; therefore, you can swap between them.

You can replace with a few modifications for other features like seats, audio amplifiers, wheels, and instrument clusters, or that part will work with limited functions.

Can you still get Dodge Dakota parts after it is discontinued?

The manufacturer discontinued the production of Dakota pickup trucks in 2011 due to a decrease in demand for compact pickup trucks and the availability of other models.

However, it remained in service for almost 24-25 years, and many trucks are still on the roads.

Therefore, despite the unavailability of new parts, you can get used parts from other trucks and junkyards.

Moreover, there is also a vast market for third-party solutions for features like lights, suspension systems, seats, and other interior parts. Therefore, there is no problem of the availability of spares even after its discontinuation.

Related Articles:

What is P003A Duramax Error Code?

How Many Axles Does a 26 Foot Box Truck Have?